Topic: Recorder 6 over Wide Area Networks

I'm being asked about the feasibility of operating Recorder 6 over a WAN line. It's currently on a 6 user network here and finally rests on our very own SQL Server. The idea suggested to me is that it could be accessed by a user several miles away via a WAN.
Has anyone any comments about the appropriateness and feasibility of this suggestion and, if it is feasible, some idea of the issues involved.

Darwyn Sumner

Re: Recorder 6 over Wide Area Networks

Hi Darwyn

I would say the main issues will be security, i.e. locking down SQL server (and the Recorder database within it) such that only the authorised users can log in. I'm not an expert on SQL Server, so I can not talk about specifics. In the PostgreSQL DB server , one can limit access to individual databases based on user and network address and the type of authentication protocol (SSL, MD5 etc).

What type of WAN is it? This may influence the solution. There are going to be issues surrounding the network interface to the WAN, routing and firewalling etc.

As far as Recorder goes, it should be possible if it's a true client-server system, i.e. the front end talks to the DB server only via the network and does not reference any LAN resources. If it does only use the network (I can't look at the Windows registery to check up on something at the moment as we have gone back to Recorder 2002 until the next Rec 6 upgrade is out) then all should be well.

When I installed Rec6 workstation, I did so from the LAN. I note that on the Rec6 install disk in the system directory is the workstationsetup.exe file. So, it should then be possible to try and install that on the remote client machine and test if the installer can "see" Recorder server once that has been exposed to the WAN. Your remote workstations will need a network path to your SQL server.