Topic: Recorder 6

This thread is a continuation of the MapMate in LRCs thread on the MapMate forum, which I have now closed.

Is that steam I see coming out of your ears there Tony? wink

I agree, communication has been bad -- hopefully, things will get better now the R2K2 group has taken off, and this forum started.

Regarding working with unfinished products, coming from a background of web design and development, using unfinished products in a production environment has always been fairly common for me. In fact, the CMS I use still hasn't come out of beta, even though I've been using it on and off for nearly 2 years now (it was supposed to hit 1.0 two years ago). Furthermore, 1.0 (or even x.0) versions of software are rarely more than disguised beta versions anyway.

Far from being a play-thing, I now use R6 for producing the reports R2K2 can't do. I use it for doing reports using large polygons, and for cross-checklist reporting, with proper taxonomic sorting. But then, I suspect Recorder in general is a much more intergral part of our workflow than it is yours -- we rely on it every day.

The dictionaries in Recorder are still a major problem. This, I believe, is due to the manual effort involved in transforming the dictionaries provided by the NHM into Recorder format. For me, the #1 request I would have for Recorder is that dictionaries are updated more frequently and more simply.