Topic: Selecting Data by Admin Area

Does anybody know if you can get MapMate to select records by admin area.  We have tried to produce maps of a local authority district but these show all records visible on the map not just those within the admin area.

We are trying to export data to the NBN but want to do it by admin area rather than taxon group.  However, since the defaults for area appear to be based on the map area rather than the actual admin area given for each site, records outside of the particular admin area are selected. 

Am I missing something simple?

Suzanne Waymont
Greater Manchester Records Centre

Suzanne Waymont
Greater Manchester Ecology Unit/ Greater Manchester LRC

Re: Selecting Data by Admin Area

Hi, I'm no MapMate expert but I think if you right click over the district you want and choose query selected regions you will be on the right lines. Press F1 for the help information. You can add a selection polygon and use that to search all records for locations which worked for me. In fact this question has meant I can now do something I've been wondering about for a while.
Thanks

Tony Price
Data Manager, Somerset Environmental Records Centre (SERC)

Tony

Thanks for the reply but we have tried doing it this way and it doesn't do want we want it to do. 

We need to select all the records for a local authority area and then run a query on it (eg to put the data into a format that can be exported to the NBN).

Suzanne

Suzanne Waymont