Topic: Moving from Recorder 3.4 to R2K or V6

I'd like some idea of the amount of time people spent making the move from Recorder to either R2K or R6? I have to make some sort of assesment of the time required or over what period of time people needed to perform the conversion.
If you used a third party how long was it before you were using the new system? Those of you who may have done this more recently may give a more realistic view due to the changes in the software.
It would be useful for me so I can create a probable timetable and schedule the workload. Any rough estimates of cost would also be helpful. Better to go into these things informed, I'm not that good with surprises!

Thanks wink

Tony Price
Data Manager, Somerset Environmental Records Centre (SERC)

2 (edited by davec 25-05-2005 13:35:30)

Re: Moving from Recorder 3.4 to R2K or V6

I'd like to know this too. BIS is hoping to migrate to Recorder 6 and I'm going to a demo of Rec6 on Monday. I'd like to wait until the full first release, but I understand people already use it in a production environment (so I'm confused over it's beta status). If I pick up any info on past experiences with R2k => Rec6 I'll post them back here.

Just re-read your post. roll Sorry, I thought you mean R2K to Rec6. From my own experience we moved a couple of big Rec 3 DB's to R2K and it was a long process. Using the bulk loader utility, we spent quite a bit of time cleaning Rec3 up first. I'd estimate I spent a good couple of weeks on this.

Cheers smile